“Picture by Dunno Source”

Flickr Photograph

“Picture By: dunno source” is how my stolen photograph is attributed at the ICanHasCheezeburger website, one of the most popular sites on the Internet. At my Flickr photostream it is “© All rights reserved” to me. 

My “Good Cat – Bad Cat” copyrighted photograph has been illegally uploaded to the I Can Has Cheezburger site, credited as “Picture By: dunno source.” As of today, 26 December 2008, fifty-nine (59) derivatives (Lolz) have been made of this photograph, totally without my permission.

My original photograph that I published on 5 August 2006 is here: Good Cat, Bad Cat by Edna Barney.

ICanHasCheezBurger is a very popular commercial website which exists to make revenue from its posted cat photographs. CNet has one explanation on the popularity of the website and its picture books (CNET 2008). Here is another of why this website is so popular

“I came to ICHC to see the free photos of cats since I’m illustrating a childrens book about a cat.” (Tempie’s Profile)

ICanHasCheezBurger is on Flickr, profiled at www.flickr.com/people/icanhascheezburger. Here is the commercial website’s cat group on Flickr: Flickr Can Has Cheezburger. Does anyone else know of any other “commercial” websites who are allowed to have groups on Flickr? I could not find any, other than ICANHASCHEEZBURGER.

UPDATE: Cheezburger Cats

The image, Dunno Source, is subject to copyright by barneykin. It is posted here with permission via the Flickr API by barneykin.
Comments are closed.

