Obama’s Views on Race Relations

Obama’s Racism From His Own Writings:

“The emotions between the races could never be pure; … the other race would always remain just that: menacing, alien and apart.” ~~Barack Obama in “Dreams From My Father,” page 124.)

What did Obama write about his self-described cousins, the Diks of Sudan, and racism?

I was reminded of a conversation I’d had a few years earlier with a friend of my mother’s, an Englishman who had worked for an international aid organization throughout Africa and Asia. He had told me that of all the different peoples he had met in his travels, the Dik of Sudan were the strangest.

‘Usually, after a month or two, you make contact,‘ he had said. ‘Even where you don’t speak the language, there’s a smile or a joke, you know — some semblance of recongnition. But at the end of a year with the Dik, they remained utterly alien to me. They laughed at the things that drove me to despair. What I thought was funny seemed to leave them stone cold.

I had spared him the information that the Dik were Nilotes, distant cousins of mine. I had tried to imagine this pale Englishman in a parched desert somewhere, his back turned away from a circle of naked tribesmen, his eyes searching an empty sky, bitter in his solitude. And the same thought had occurred to me then that I carried with me now as I left the movie theater with my mother and sister: The emotions between the races could never be pure; even love was tarnished by the desire to find in the other some element that was missing in ourselves. Whether we sought out our demons or salvation, the other race would always remain just that: menacing, alien and apart.” ~~Barack Obama in “Dreams From My Father,” page 124.

What did Barack Obama say, in his own words, about segregation on college campuses?

To avoid being mistaken for a sellout, I chose my friends carefully. The more politically active black students. The foreign students. The Chicanos. The Marxist professors and structural feminists and punk-rock performance poets. We smoked cigarettes and wore leather jackets. At night, in the dorms, we discussed neocolonialism, Franz Fanon, Eurocentrism, and patriarchy. When we ground out our cigarettes in the hallway carpet or set our stereos so loud that the walls began to shake, we were resisting bourgeois society’s stifling constraints. We weren’t indifferent or careless or insecure. We were alienated.

After all, there were thousands of so-called campus radicals, most of them white and tenured and happily tolerated. No, it remained necessary to prove which side you were on, to show your loyalty to the black masses, to strike out and name names. ~~Barack Obama in “Dreams From My Father,” pages 100, 101.

What did Barack Obama write about Blacks acting white? He ridiculed them and their redneck girlfriends.

Tim was not a conscious brother. Tim wore argyle sweaters and pressed jeans and talked like Beaver Cleaver. …His white girlfriend was probably waiting for him up in his room, listening to country music. ~~Barack Obama, ibidem, pages 101, 102.

What did Barack Obama think about actual bourgeois white people? “We’d Laugh at the Faces.” When Obama was living in New York City, he entertained himself laughing at the upper-class “white people from the better neighborhoods” because they were actually following the rules of the community in which they lived. Obama wrote it in his own words in “Dreams From My FatherBarack Obama Book,” pages 3, 4.

“I’d usually stop to talk to the boys who hung out on the stoop all summer long about the Knicks or the gunshots they’d heard the night before. When the weather was good, my roommate and I might sit out on the fire escape to smoke cigarettes and study the dusk washing blue over the city, or watch white people from the better neighborhoods nearby walk their dogs down our block to let the animals shit on our curbs — ‘Scoop the poop, you bastards!’ my roommate would shout with impressive rage and we’d laugh at the faces of both master and beast, grim and unapologetic as they hunkered down to do the deed. I enjoyed such moments –” ~~Barack Obama in “Dreams From My Father,” pages 3, 4.)

Comments are closed.

