Goodbye WGMS-fm

Classical music and commentary from WGMS-fm is no more, having suffered extinction at the greedy hands of Redskins owner, Dan Snyder. (See “Dan Snyder – The Grinch Who Stole Washington’s Christmas”.) However, WETA, one of Washington’s public radio stations has somehow managed to usurp everything that was WGMS on the Internet, as they hope to fill the void that has been left by the death of Washington’s beloved classical music station. Hoping to find WGMS still on the Internet, I went to their website and found it totally taken over by WETA. What a shock!

ATTENTION WGMS LISTENERS: On January 22, 2007 WGMS ceased broadcasting classical music and WETA 90.9 FM switched radio formats to become the exclusive classical music station in the nation’s capital.

Give me a break! WETA has been around for forty-five years and no one listened to its classical music. It’s selections were boring, its commentators worse than boring, its newscasts from NPR made one feel as though one were imprisoned in a Communist Gulag and forced fed State Radio. Now that WGMS is dead and gone, WETA believes they have an opportunity to garner its listeners. HA!

Is WETA with Sharon Rockefeller in control, about to change its stripes? I don’t think so. And besides, give me breaks of commercials any day, as opposed to hearing pitiful and long-winded beggings for pennies that occur quarterly for more than a week at a time.

I don’t know about others, but I don’t want to get my classical music from government-sponsored radio, no more than I want to get my news from government-sponsored NPR. Afterall, we may live in Washington, but we are still Americans, we are NOT Canadians.

I hear that the Washington area is getting into “FREE” HD Radio, whatever that is. Perhaps that will be our solution. Certainly, it will not be WETA-fm!

Comments are closed.

