My Country – My World

Flickr Photograph

Eternal Words of Thomas Paine:
“These are the times that try men’s souls. The summer soldier and the sunshine patriot will, in this crisis, shrink from the service of their country; but he that stands it now, deserves the love and thanks of man and woman. Tyranny, like hell, is not easily conquered; yet we have this consolation with us, that the harder the conflict, the more glorious the triumph”.

Thomas Paine, an American revolutionary and 18th century free thinker was born 1737, at Thetford, England where this memorial and slogan was photographed: “My country is the World … My religion is to do good”.

Save To: gif ”Digg” The image, Thomas Paine Message, is subject to copyright by Trojan_Llama. It is posted here with permission via the Flickr API by barneykin.

One Response to My Country – My World

  1. nagaijin says:

    A great liberal thinker. He’d be in Guantanamo today, with Jefferson and the other founding fathers.

